Dermalogica ratings and reviews
shop now at Dermalogica
shop cleansers
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Dermalogica UltraCalming™ cleanser

Dermalogica UltraCalming™ cleanser

An extremely gentle cleansing gel/cream that can either be rinsed off or gently removed with tissue or The Sponge Cloth.
Average Customer Rating:
3.284 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
35
54 out of 95(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for UltraCalming™ cleanser
Review 1 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works for me

Date:February 14, 2014
BenF
Location:London, UK
age:45-54
I've had a red face for several years and have consulted a dermatologist about it. This cleanser works for me - instantly lightens my face. I don't know how it does it, but it works extremely well for me. My dermatologist recommended I continue using it since it clearly works.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!

Date:April 16, 2013
Keira
Location:Denver, CO
age:35-44
The "new" formula which is now a few years old did sting a little for a couple of weeks, but then my skin got used to it. I have sensitive and oily skin and am prone to breakouts. This cleanser is the best ever! My skin has never looked so good. I love this new formula as it is an effective improvement from the previous.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lifesaving

Date:August 10, 2012
mamalane
Location:High Point North Carolina
age:35-44
I have used this product for 5 years I was pregnant with my 2nd child but didnt realize it at the time my face was breaking out terribly Never had a problem before
guess being 36 and lots of hormones
I would cry everyday had facial
recommended dermalogica ultracalming products.AMAZING
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just as the name says.

Date:August 7, 2012
Azizeh
Location:Malibu, CA
age:25-34
This cleanser is very soothing and great for people with sensitive skin and/or irritation.
I am one of those lucky people with adult acne. Fortunately, it's mostly under control but recently I had some bad breakouts that wouldn't go away. My dermatologist had me on the whole acne routine. Retinol at night, an anti-bacterial cream in the day. I used my fancy electronic brush to try and clear the pores, but I really don't think I was seeing results. $5,000 lasers were on the horizon.
I decided to take a different approach and try to calm the inflammation down with more soothing and less abrasive product. My friend is a licensed aesthetician and gave me some of this cleanser to use after Pre-cleanse, which I adore.
Along with some other Dermalogica products for sensitive skin, my face is getting clearer and when I do get a new zit it isn't as inflamed and noticeable as it had been when I was on a regiment of very expensive prescription products designed for acne. Go figure.
Some people who are addicted to suds and foam may not like it, but with Pre-cleanse there's absolutely no reason
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect, morning or night

Date:August 6, 2012
missmoorebeauty
Location:everett wa
age:18-24
I have very sensitive skin and I find that many cleansers even can dry out my skin. The ultracalming cleanser is made out of only oils and it is so smooth on my skin. The best part of all is the no need for water. I go camping and hiking very often during the summer and I bring my Ultracalming cleanser with me, rub it on, and just wipe it off using a clean towel. And it doesnt feel like there is any nasty residue left over, it feels great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Redness, begone!

Date:July 31, 2012
Ashleytotherescue
Location:Baltimore, MD
age:18-24
I recently decided to treat myself to a facial at my local spa, and they just so happened to use Dermalogica products. I had been meaning to try the line for quite some time, so I went ahead and bought the whole regimen that was recommended. Since I have skin more sensitive than baby bottoms, it was always red, dry, irritated, you name it... and to make things worse, prone to acne. This wash has almost completely fixed all of my problems. My skin is no longer so irritated, and when I do have acne it is no longer as noticeable. The UltraCalming products were recommended to me as a way to calm down, and in the process, clear up my skin. I was skeptical at first, but the wash did all the convincing. I'm now well into my second bottle and I am recommending it to anyone who asks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best product for sensitive skin!!!!!

Date:July 30, 2012
BigT
I Love Ultra Calming cleanser!!!! I have VERY sensitive skin with a lot of reddness. I have been using Ultra Claming cleanser for the past eight years and can not go a day without it!!!! It helps with the underlying reddness and always leaves my face soft. While on vacation a few years ago I forgot to pack my Ultra Claming cleanser and had to settle for another brand. My skin paid the price as when I got home I had clogged pores alot of reddness and my skin was very dry. Lesson leaned I NEVER leave home without it!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Cleanser

Date:July 29, 2012
Vegyogini
UltraCalming Cleanser is the perfect cleanser for sensitive skin. It goes on smoothly, rinses off easily, and is never drying. I've been using it for probably 14 years now and wouldn't dream of switching.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MY FAV!!!

Date:July 29, 2012
Lola8484
Location:Woodbridge, VA
age:25-34
I have been using this product for 10 years now and am still completely in love with it. Gentle on my skin, doesn't burn if I accidentally get it in my eyes, takes off all of my make-up, leaves me skin feeling clean and super soft. I would highly recommend it to another person and in fact, have gotten my mother, mother-in-law, niece and both sister-in-laws turned onto this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cool and refreshing

Date:July 28, 2012
Allycat
Location:Lafayette,CA
age:45-54
This cleanser is perfect for my sensitive skin. I love putting it on my face as it instantly cools it and makes if feel so refreshed. It is perfect!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ultracalming cleanser

Date:July 28, 2012
Sarge
Location:Keene, NH
age:45-54
I love love love ultracalming cleanser. It is a perfect go to product if nothing else works. It works. I use it, my face feels so clean after using it. There really isn't much more to say other than go buy some. It's great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This creamy cleanser just feels right

Date:July 27, 2012
Balibabi
Location:Sherman Oaks, California
age:45-54
My rosacea-prone skin needs some extra love... so I treat it to this UltraCalming cleanser every day. I like the light smell, the creaminess of the product and that it doesn't irritate my skin. Oh yeah.. and it cleans! :) I've been happy with its power to not only remove the day's dirt - but also take off the eye makeup. This cleanser makes me happy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best cleanser I have ever used.

Date:July 27, 2012
Sandicarol60
Location:Columbia NJ
age:55-65
This product cleans your skin but it so gentle and leaves your skin feeling clean and soft without any drying effects, It feels so natural on your skin. After using this product, I will not use anything else to clean my skin. It is 5 ***** out of 5. My skin feels great. It was recommended to me by my daughtet who also loves it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soothes sensitive skin

Date:July 27, 2012
Hgranier
Location:Newnan, GA
age:18-24
This product is one of my favorites. I have red cheeks, and this helps soothe them. Without it I would be a hot mess. Granted this is just a part of a skin care regimen, still without it I wouldn't be able to have a more even look. Nobody wants red cheeks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the only cleanser i'll use

Date:April 5, 2012
vieveward
Location:CA
age:25-34
This is my very favorite cleanser, the only one I'll use. I have very sensitive skin, and UltraCalming Cleanser never irritates my face or throat. Since I started washing my eyes with it (eyes closed, of course!), I stopped getting eye infections too! Before I was getting them frequently. This is my favorite Dermalogica product, and I don't know what I'd do without it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product!

Date:March 14, 2012
AMrzljak
I am new to the product and purchased the starter kit a week ago. Within the first week I can see the improvements. I have a very sensitive and dry skin. This product was recommended to me by one of the Ulta Dermalogica professionals. It works great for me and I am planning to buy the full size bottle soon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very very calming!

Date:March 13, 2012
Nomen
Location:Zagreb, Croatia
age:18-24
I use this cleanser after Special cleansing gel as a 'toner' to remove mineral residues (from wather) that can form a film on skin and cause irritation. Just put a small amount on tissue and wipe off. Skin is immediately soothed, ready for UltraCalming mist.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Date:February 29, 2012
emlee57
Location:Riverside, CA
age:45-54
Even better than I remember since I had been using a watered down bottle until I could find some more. Thanks for selling on line!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3rd generation Ultracalming cleanser is a winner!

Date:February 25, 2012
fotahina
Location:los angeles
age:35-44
Just confirming what the poster before me mentioned...this has been reformulated again. This one doesnt burn and smells different. Im sure there is still old stock out so getting a hold of this one might be an issue. Nevertheless, this new stuff works great for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for UltraCalming™ cleanser
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this cleanser

Date:February 16, 2012
sensitive0111
Location:Chicago, IL
age:55-65
I love this cleanser. With my Rosacea prone skin, it is the only cleanser I can use. They "reformulated" the updated version so if you tried it and it burned your eyes or your face, please try it again. If you have sensitive skin, your skin will thank you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>