Dermalogica ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Dermalogica concealing spot treatment

Dermalogica concealing spot treatment

Conceal and help clear breakouts with this tinted spot treatment
Average Customer Rating:
2.372 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
17
19 out of 43(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for concealing spot treatment
Review 1 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recommended

Date:April 19, 2014
Sascha
It doesn't conceal and it doesn't clear, i.e. a lot of money for nothing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ok

Date:March 21, 2014
olee123
Location:LA
age:25-34
works fast and well, but it tends to burn or over dry, i would only recommend for bad acne
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have Product

Date:March 14, 2014
NiceGirlLisa
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
age:35-44
I absolutely love the concealing spot treatment! I have had the hardest time finding a concealer that really works. I have a lot of breakouts on my chin and this product covers everything up perfectly! I use it everyday!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little goes a long way!

Date:February 6, 2014
mrsmliss
age:35-44
I like that there is a tint to this product because you can see where you are applying it. It seems like you only need a TINY bit to cover a blemish, and it even looks fine whenused during the day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It works… but...

Date:January 20, 2014
Yarnc
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
age:18-24
I got this as a part of the medibac clearing kit, and have been using is for only about a week. But this product WORKS… I have had a few pimples pop up as I am transitioning to the new cleansing routine, and this has cleared them up before they become an issue.
I came on to the website hoping that there was a non-tinted version only to find out there isn't. I am heartbroken. I can't wear it during the day as it is no where near my skin colour… it leaves my pale skin a terrible orange colour, and when I put it on at night it gets all over my pillow case. Please, please, please make a non-tinted version. Expand who can use this otherwise excellent product!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's ok

Date:December 1, 2013
Kayinlondon
Location:London, UK
age:25-34
I'm Asian toned but the colour of this doesn't match my skin. I was having a breakout and would use my moisturiser, dab this on affected area, let dry and use my foundation over the top. It worked well in this format and really helped appearance of spots as I was feeling very self conscious. The sink looks pretty grim when you wash it off at the end of the day and feels like clay. I was using samples but am considering buying this product but am concerned it could dry out quickly .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You'll like it IF you're ORANGE,otherwise TERRIBLE

Date:March 4, 2013
AnnT
Location:Perth WA, Australia
age:18-24
Theoretically, this sounded amazing. Unfortunately, dermalogica just couldn't translate their ideas into this product well enough. Firstly, no one I know has ORANGE skin (unless someone's gotten a BAD fake tan) , thus pasting this stuff onto your face highlights the fact you've got a spot there rather than concealing it. Perhaps if dermalogica could read the reviews on here they'd reformulate this product with a more natural skin tone (even with a yellow undertone to cancel out the redness of a zit) and make a light, medium and dark shade, this would've been rated soooo much better than its lousy 2 stars. for now this is a bad product that I'd only save for night time use or day time use when I am at home and ONLY if my other better spot treatments ran out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Response from Dermalogica:By Dermalogica Skin TherapistMarch 7, 2013
Hello, thank you for writing us. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the coloring of this product, and we've forwarded your message to our Research and Development team for review.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Just ok

Date:August 10, 2012
KurlyNY
Location:New York, New York
age:25-34
With my caramel complexion I never expected this to be concealing. It's just too light for my complexion. Sometimes this product works and sometimes it doesn't. It also has a very runny consistency.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Customize your regimen

Date:July 27, 2012
MsDot
I am an African American woman--very brown. So as you might guess, the "concealer" isn't my exact skin color. What I do is dab my breakouts with this product, let it dry, then apply the moisurizer over it. Blends the color in perfectly! And my breakouts disappear within 48 hours. Now, it does dry quickly so I can't dab all over my face and then rub it in. I have have to rub the product in one pimple at at time. Works much better than the Murad products I tried for 5 weeks. Love, love, love it!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Dear Dermalogica please give us a better one.

Date:June 28, 2012
tonka
age:35-44
As this product is meant to conseal, I do not think it does a great job ouf ot it. Difficult to blend on the skin, as the consistency is too thin.Once it dries out the color pops and it looks chalky and unnatural. Hope that you will re-formulate it and make it great - I need one (and used your old one) daily.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Does not work for it's purpose.

Date:June 9, 2012
rouge
Location:Norway
age:18-24
I have fair asian skin, and periodically gets cystic acne due to stress, hormones etc. I bought this product to be used on daytime but I ended up only using it during the night, because the formula is too cakey and the color is no good either. Even when I apply it according to the instructions, I've experienced that when I pat it on (after waiting 5 sec after applying) the product gets smitten on my finger, and there's no product left on the acne....!
I went back to the store to find out whether I was applying it wrong, but I wasn't! So, basically, the product does not work as promised when it comes to "a natural looking tint" and "conceals breakouts". Works great during the night to combat acne, but I didn't buy the product to be used during the night.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS

Date:May 23, 2012
JOJO
Location:orange county,ca
age:25-34
this is a great product if you just take the time and follow the directions
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

:( please bring back the old formula!

Date:May 11, 2012
mair
I have been using the concealing spot treatment for years. This new formula is TERRIBLE. I can't imagine the color working for anyone's skin tone (I agree with it being too orange even for the cast of Jersey Shore). I makes me look like I have war paint on, so I can't wear it out in public (in fact, the one time I did, thinking I had sufficiently blended it in, when sunlight hit my face, my boyfriend asked if i had been drawing on myself with a crayon). I really wish they would bring back the old formula because it was awesome!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 14 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

SERIOUSLY bummed out :(

Date:March 8, 2012
kace
Location:Salt Lake City, Ut
age:25-34
this was my favorite product before it was reformulated. i have olive skin, not even very pale, and this product remains too orange for me. i think it would be too orange for most of the jersey shore cast...
it does not blend well, either. i keep pouring witch hazel in my final glass bottle of the old formula in an attempt to make it last. dermalogica, you broke my heart!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:March 5, 2012
Helena
Location:Dublin, Ireland
age:35-44
I was very disappointed with this product. I use the full range of dermalogica facial products and have come to expect products to be of a high standard and to work as advertised.
This product however has an awful dark orange tint and as such I could not use as a concealer no matter how carefully I followed the instructions.
I decided to test out its spot treatment claims whilst at home and unfortunately found it very harsh and drying. After 3 days, I decided to stop using the product as my skin was looking worse not better. This is the 1st bad experience I've had with Dermalogica products and it seems I'm not alone.
Please please Dermalogica listen to your customers and change this product !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome!!!

Date:February 29, 2012
ecekop
Location:Boston,MA
age:18-24
another excellent product from Dermalogica. I use it at night most of the time and sometimes during the day if the acne/pimple is a big one. It shows immediate response. Of course don't expect a miracle; none of the products on the market create miracles! But this product, depending on the size of the acne, starts showing it's excellence the first time you put it. Follow the directions. When I put it at night, I don't blend it that much to get the color off, just cover the pimple and let it dry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The previous one was way better

Date:February 26, 2012
levlevin
Location:Moscow, Russia
age:18-24
Previous concelaing spot treatment was more liquid and the color was much more realistic. Hope the next one will be as good as previous
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Such a Disappointment

Date:February 17, 2012
Lainy
Please Please dermalogica listen to you current customers and change this product. Its not potent enough, absolutely too dark (like a poor fake 'n bake cream) and having it in the liquid form is wasteful. You are lowering your standard by keeping this around.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

recommended!

Date:January 20, 2012
Mona
I know there are some negative reviews on here about how the concealer doesn't match their skin tone. I have medium/fair skin with a golden/yellow undertone and this spot concealer blends perfectly into my skin. It also does a great job on treating blemishes anywhere on the face. One tip is that after dabbing a bit onto the problem spot, make sure to follow the instructions and let it sit for five seconds before starting to blend it into your skin, makes a huge difference in the solution's ability to cover and melt into your skin tone.
Love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for concealing spot treatment
overall rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Quick

Date:December 7, 2011
Anonymous
Location:Portland, OR
age:18-24
You don't need a lot and it works quite quickly! Ill never use anything else; its the best!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>